Pasamalar – Malarnthum Malaratha Pathi Malar Pola – English Translation

Oh my dear, you are a blossoming flower,
you are a precious art, like a beautiful dawn,
you are the breeze who plays with river & combs with the plant twigs,
you are a tamil academy,
born in pothigai hills & flourished in the city of madurai.
You are born to be like a king,
to win battles with elephantry,
You are born to rule the world,
to marry your cousin and,
to live a youthful life..
to marry your cousin and, to live a youthful life..

With gold & diamond ornaments,

your marraige will be fixed,

and to that,

your uncle will trade even the world..

(sad)..and to that,

your uncle will trade even the world..

you are the breeze who plays with river & combs with the plant twigs,

you are a tamil academy, born in pothigai hills & flourished in the city of madurai.

Should I tell you the story,

of how was raised like own daughter,

as my brother took me under his wings,

Or should I tell you the story,

how my brother & I were seperated…

Should I tell you this??

We were born like eye & eyelids,

and our relation will stay even if, this earth, sea & sky are no more.

We can never be seperated.. 

Sivashanmugam. P.,
Mobile: +91-9655666148

Your Nature, My Nature and the Nature of Everything

3 Responses to Pasamalar – Malarnthum Malaratha Pathi Malar Pola – English Translation

  1. jaydei says:

    Hi,
    I found your translation as I was looking for the lyrics of this song. I tried my own hand at the translation. You can check it out if you want 🙂 Nice to see other Tamil song enthusiasts 🙂
    http://jaydei.wordpress.com/2011/07/01/malarnthum-malaraatha-lyrics-and-translation/
    Hope you like my version too 🙂

  2. Dipu says:

    It’s a wonderfull translation.But I have still a doubt about the Word ‘Podigai’.What does it stands for?Is it the name of a hill?

  3. Sri says:

    Lovely lines it is mind blowing

Leave a Reply

